Diary

Research and mountain: it happens at the IMC

© Leïla Shahshahani

Born in 2005 in Scotland and recognized as the largest international conference on mountain research, the International Mountain Conference (IMC) is taking place this year from September 11 to 15 in Innsbruck, Austria. 

Like the previous edition in 2019, the organizers of the IMC 2022 come from the Mountain Regions research axis of the University of Innsbruck, located in the heart of the Alps.

More than eighty conferences, workshops and other events will bring together around 800 participants from all over the world, who will come to share the results of their research on mountains, on different themes: impact of altitude on climate change; risks related to glaciers and permafrost; status and future of waters; impact of less snow and ice; grasslands facing global change; coping strategies; pursuit of climate neutrality; protected natural areas as tools for sustainable development; future of leisure and consequences on alpine fauna…

Many Labex ITTEM researchers will attend the event and will also present their work to the scientific community. We will discuss in particular the programs Refuges sentinelles and Alpages sentinels , glacier tourism in the age of climate change, social innovations around the Transformont project, energy issues in the Andes and the Alps or issues related to water resources in the context of tourism winter, or the research residency organized by the collective Perce-Neige in the Vercors.

Home to more than a billion people worldwide, mountain regions provide up to a quarter of the world's population with vital resources such as water. Strongly impacted by the effects of climate change and socio-economic changes, these regions now constitute a crucial field of study for scientists from different disciplines.

Discover the full program on the International Mountain Conference 2022 website

Agenda,Français

Recherche et montagne : ça se passe à l’IMC

© Leïla Shahshahani

Née en 2005 en Ecosse et reconnue comme la plus grande conférence internationale de la recherche sur la montagne, l’International Mountain Conference (IMC) se déroule cette année du 11 au 15 septembre à Innsbruck, en Autriche. 

A l’instar de la précédente édition de 2019, les organisateurs de l’IMC 2022 sont issus de l’axe de recherche Régions de montagne de l’Université d’Innsbruck, implantée au cœur des Alpes.

Plus de quatre-vingt conférences, ateliers et autres manifestations réuniront environ 800 participants du monde entier, venus partager les résultats de leurs recherches sur la montagne, sur différentes  thématiques : impact de l’altitude sur le changement climatique ; risques liés aux glaciers et pergélisol ; statut et avenir des eaux ; impact de la diminution de neige et de glace ; prairies face au changement global ; stratégies d’adaptation ; recherche de la neutralité climatique ; zones naturelles protégées comme outils de développement durable ; avenir des loisirs et conséquence sur la faune alpine…

De nombreux chercheurs du Labex ITTEM assisteront à l’évènement et présenteront également leurs travaux à la communauté scientifique. On y parlera notamment des programmes Refuges sentinelles et Alpages sentinelles, du tourisme glaciaire à l’heure du changement climatique , d’innovations sociales autour du projet Transformont, d’enjeux énergétiques dans les Andes et dans les Alpes ou d’enjeux liés à la ressource en eau dans le contexte du tourisme hivernal,  ou encore de la résidence de recherche organisée par le collectif Perce-Neige dans le Vercors.

Habitées par plus d’un milliard de personnes dans le monde, les régions de montagne fournissent jusqu’à un quart de la population mondiale en ressources vitales telles que l’eau. Fortement impactés par les effets du changement climatique et les mutations socio-économiques, ces régions constituent aujourd’hui un terrain d’étude crucial pour les scientifiques de différentes disciplines.

Découvrir le programme complet sur le site de l’International Mountain Conference 2022