The transition to mountain school

Completed project

The workshop is intended for students in the second year of the Tourism Innovation Transition at the Grenoble Institute of Urban Planning and Alpine Geography. It aims to build a multidisciplinary framework for interpreting the strategic and practical challenges of mountain tourism.

© Philippe Bourdeau

Since 2017, with the support of the Labex, these workshops have been experimenting with the complementarity of two pedagogical approaches, based on renewed themes: a training sequence led by academic contributors from the Labex laboratories, and field days punctuated by meetings and round tables with local stakeholders, creative workshops, observations and surveys.

This year, the field phase (January 4-12, 2021) will be dedicated to the theme of recreational transition in mid-mountain areas, and organized in partnership with the Méaudre-Autrans Nordic Ski Lodge in the Vercors. This theme was chosen based on observations stemming from exchanges with local actors: the offer of outdoor sports activities by clubs and local service providers only partially responds the environmental, cultural, socio-cultural and educational issues because of a fragmentation of activities (mountain biking, trail, Nordic skiing...) and a dominant orientation towards technical skill and performance.

The objective of the workshop is to propose the concept of "mountain school" which, while promoting sports activities, will provide a framework conducive to the transmission of knowledge, practices and values around the objectives of environmental responsibility, autonomy, social ties and territorial anchoring. If health conditions allow, a round table on this subject will be organised as a parallel event to the Autrans Mountain Film Festival.

Vercors training Climate and ecological transitions Economy, jobs and services Tourism and recreational practices

La transition à l’école de la montagne

Projet en cours

L’atelier s’adresse aux étudiants du Master 2 Tourisme Innovation Transition de l’Institut d’urbanisme et de géographie alpine de Grenoble. Il vise à construire une grille de lecture pluridisciplinaire des enjeux stratégiques et pratiques du tourisme de montagne.

© Philippe Bourdeau

Depuis 2017, avec le soutien du Labex, ces ateliers expérimentent la complémentarité de deux approches pédagogiques, à partir de thématiques renouvelées : une séquence de formation confiée à des intervenants académiques des laboratoires du Labex, et des journées de terrain ponctuées de rencontres et table rondes avec des acteurs locaux, ateliers créatifs, observations et enquêtes.

Cette année, la phase de terrain (du 4 au 12 janvier 2021) sera dédiée au thème de la transition récréative en moyenne montagne, et organisée en partenariat avec le Foyer de ski nordique de Méaudre-Autrans dans le Vercors. Cette orientation s’appuie sur un constat issu d’échanges avec les acteurs du territoire : l’offre d’activités sportives de nature par les clubs et prestataires locaux ne répond que très partiellement aux enjeux environnementaux, culturels, socioculturels et éducatifs du fait d’une fragmentation disciplinaire (vtt, trail, ski nordique…) et d’une orientation dominante vers la technicité et la performance.

L’objectif de l’atelier est de proposer un concept d’« école de la montagne » qui tout en valorisant les activités sportives, offrira un cadre propice à la transmission de savoirs, pratiques et valeurs autour d’objectifs de responsabilité environnementale, d’autonomie, de lien social et d’ancrage territorial. Si les conditions sanitaires le permettent une table ronde sur ce sujet sera organisée comme évènement paralèlle du Festival du film de montagne d’Autrans.

Formation Vercors Climat et transitions écologique Économie, emplois et service Tourisme et pratiques récréatives