Become - Bioeconomic transitions in mountain regions

2021 - ...

In the 2017 "Stratégie bioéconomie pour la France", the bioeconomy is first presented as a new sector of the economy focused on the production, use and transformation of bioresources. Other narratives of the bioeconomy exist, without necessarily claiming to be such, which call for circularity, autonomy, agroecology or moderation. The Become project examines the links and specificities of these different visions, which produce distinct narratives of the bioeconomic transition and fuel scientific debate.

© Sandrine Allain

How is the idea of a bio-economic transition taking shape? What are the goals and contours of the concept in mountain territories?  What are the underlying principles and values? What are the tensions and conflicts?

Several territorial scales are implicated in the bioeconomy: Regions (the French governing bodies) - which are supposed to be the sounding board for the national strategy - but also the territories proposing projects, from the Tepos (Positive Energy Territory) to the Pat (Territorial Food Plan) and the CTE (Ecological Transition Contracts).

The Auvergne Rhone-Alpes region and the Grenoble metropolitan area and its surrounding massifs (Chartreuse, Vercors, Belledonne) will serve as the project's main fields of study. The conceptual framework will be that of ecological socio-economics, and the tools used will be mainly semi-structured interviews, discourse analysis and scenario building.

A particular feature of this project is that it seeks to identify whether there is a "mountain specificity" of the bioeconomy, and if so, what kind. These include the presence of vulnerable and protected ecosystems; forest resources, sometimes considered as "biomass deposits"; access and production constraints; hydroelectric potential; strong seasonal fluctuations in the demand for water, food and energy linked to tourism, etc.

The Become project aims to contribute to the development of food systems, energy and ecological issues in territorial planning.

Research Belledonne Chartreuse Vercors Planning, public policies and governance Climate and ecological transitions

Coordination

Sandrine Allain

Lessem ( INRAE )

Become – Transition bioéconomique dans les territoires de montagne

Projet en cours

Dans la « Stratégie bioéconomie pour la France » de 2017, la bioéconomie est d’abord présentée comme un nouveau secteur de l’économie centré sur la production, l’usage et la transformation des bioressources. D’autres récits de la bioéconomie existent, sans forcément se revendiquer comme tels, qui font appel à la circularité, à l’autonomie, à l’agroécologie ou à la sobriété. Le projet Become interroge les articulations et spécificités de ces différentes visions, qui produisent des récits distincts de la transition bioéconomique et alimentent les débats scientifiques.

© Sandrine Allain

Comment se concrétise l’idée d’une transition bioéconomique ? Avec quelles ambitions dans les territoires et selon quels contours ? Avec quels principes et valeurs sous-jacents, mais aussi quelles tensions ?

Plusieurs échelles territoriales sont concernées par la bioéconomie : les Régions – censées être la caisse de résonance de la stratégie nationale – mais aussi les territoires porteurs de projets, du Tepos (Territoire à énergie positive) au Pat (Plan alimentaire territorial) en passant par les CTE (Contrats de transition écologique).

La région Auvergne Rhone-Alpes et la métropole grenobloise et ses massifs environnants (Chartreuse, Vercors, Belledonne) serviront de terrains privilégiés au projet. Le cadre conceptuel sera celui de la socio-économie écologique, et les outils mobilisés seront essentiellement des entretiens semis directifs, des analyses de discours et l’élaboration de scénarios.

Particularité de ce projet : il cherche à repérer s’il existe une « spécificité montagne » de la bioéconomie, et le cas échéant, de quelle nature. On pense notamment à la présence d’écosystèmes vulnérables et protégés ; aux ressources forestières, parfois considérées comme des « gisements de biomasse » ; aux contraintes d’accès et de production ; au potentiel hydroélectrique ; aux fortes fluctuations saisonnières de la demande en eau, aliments et énergie liées au tourisme…

Le projet Become devrait contribuer à l’articulation d’enjeux alimentaires, énergétiques, et écologique dans le développement territorial.

Recherche Belledonne Chartreuse Vercors Aménagement, politiques publiques et gouvernance Climat et transitions écologique

Coordinatrice

Partenaire